1974 Carol Daronch

NAME Carol Daronch
AGE 18
DATE OF ATTACK November 8, 1974
LOCATION OF ATTACK Fashion Place Mall; Murray, Utah
CIRCUMSTANCES OF ATTACK Ted Bundy approached Carol in the mall parking lot. The dialogue went something like this

Ted: Good morning miss, my name is Officer Roseland. Would you please tell me your license plate number. A burglary was just just reported and I have a sneaking suspicion it was your automobile..
Carol: Sure, it’s DUMBBITCH1974
Ted: Thanks a lot, would you mind accompanying me to the police sub-station conveniently located here in the mall?
Carol: Sure. I didn’t know police had sub-stations located in the malls.
Ted: They don’t. You’re just stupid enough to believe every word I tell you.
Carol: Oh, ok.
Ted: Nice tits.
Carol: Thank you..Can I see some identification?
Ted: Sure, here’s my library card.
Carol: Thanks.
Ted: Oh..I just remembered, I left the key to the sub-station in my Volkswagen. Would you mind coming with me while I go get it?
Carol: Sure.
Ted: Good, it’ll make kidnapping you much easier.
Carol: Whatever helps. You’re really creepy, smell like alcohol, and somehow I don’t think you’re really a police officer with those second hand patent leather shoes and greasy hair, but I’ll go with you anyway.
Ted: That’s what I like to hear..Ahh, perhaps I should just take you to the real police station so you can fill out a report.
Carol: But I didn’t see anyone break into my car. I was shopping.
Ted: Doesn’t matter, it’s your vehicle.
Carol: Oh. I guess that’s true.

[They get into his car and he asks her to put her seat belt on]

Carol: Seat belt? But I don’t really trust you! I’m not strapping myself into your car, putting myself in danger, putting myself in a terribly vulnerable position.
Ted: Yea, that makes sense.

[Ted drives away, but pulls off the road in a matter of minutes and brandishes a pair of handcuffs]

Carol: What..What do you think you’re doing??
Ted: I’m handcuffing you to my car, you stupid gullible bitch. Then I’m going to bash your pretty little skull in with my trusty crowbar, fuck you, kill you, and fuck you again.
Carol: But then I won’t be able to fill out the burglary report!
Ted: God, you’re so fucking stupid. Just go! Just go so I can find a victim who has some brains in her head, for fucks sake! Get the fuck out of my car!

o_O Ted sped away, Carol flagged down strangers for help, and the rest is history.

