Ted’s admission of guilt

po

“Ted, when I was at Vic’s yesterday, I saw a file of statements from people who claimed to have seen Kimberly Leach sometime after she’d disappeared from school.”

Ted said nothing, but grew still. He could see where this was headed.

Ted volunteered nothing. This was the first time I was talking to him as the perpetrator of the crimes, not just as a trial participant, but I still didn’t dare be direct.

“Ted,” I finally asked, after thinking of exactly how to word this, “is there any possibility these reports could have been true?”

Continuing to stare at me, Ted waited another moment more, then shook his head. That was his first direct admission of guilt.

My heart sank with disappointment.

Nelson, Polly. Defending the Devil: My Story as Ted Bundy’s Last Lawyer. 1st ed. New York: W. Morrow, 1994. Print.