The Phantom Prince [ the illegitimacy ]

w liz

Not long after we started spending time together, he came over one night and said he had something very important to tell me, something that might change my opinion of him. Shaking with nervousness, he told me that he was illegitimate. His mother gave birth to him in a home for unwed mothers in the East, he said, and they moved to Tacoma to live with relatives when he was very small. Then she married Johnnie Bundy and had four more children. Johnnie Bundy had adopted him, but Ted knew nothing about it until he was a teenager..“She never even had the decency to tell me herself,” he said bitterly.

“It’s not important anymore. What’s important is that you’ve got a lot going for you. I love you because you’re wonderful.”

Ted put his head in his hands and cried.

Kendall, Elizabeth. The Phantom Prince: My Life with Ted Bundy. Seattle: Madrona, 1981. Print.