“I want to master life and death.”

This is one of many overused examples of a Ted quote. Quite offensively taken out of context, which is usually the case.

“I am not sure I have the courage for that yet. My instinct to survive is strong, although that instinct seems so pathetic and pointless right now. What for? Who for? I bring pain to you, I bring pain to others who care for me and I bring pain to myself. It is time to rethink this awful experience because the stimulus of standing alone in the face of great odds is not satisfying anymore. It is time to re-evaluate the value of living without being alive….The crazy flow of things seem to have stopped. I want to look around me now. I want to master life and death.”

Kendall, Elizabeth. The Phantom Prince: My Life with Ted Bundy. Seattle: Madrona, 1981. Print.