“I hope you liked me.”

He asked that I use our interviews to help explain him to others, to explain that he was not a monster. He stared into my eyes and finally asked a question that was obviously very important to him:

“I need to know. Did you and Jim like me?” My heart dropped.
“Of course, Ted, of course.” I tried to push those words into Ted’s heart and allow him to believe it, as he apparently did not. I didn’t care what the truth was.

ted bundy with bill hagmaier before execution white shirt (3)

When I returned to Ted, he held a letter against the glass that he had written to me and Jim, thanking us for our representation. “I hope you liked me,” it said. “I hope this wasn’t just an unpleasant legal chore for you.” His note ended with, “I feel close to you now.”

Nelson, Polly. Defending the Devil: My Story as Ted Bundy’s Last Lawyer. 1st ed. New York: W. Morrow, 1994. Print.